mud!

And here it is: the 10k Dirty Dash results.

before

Dirty Dash before pic

after

the Dirty Dash after pic

Yesterday was my first time ever running a 10k, which was a huge start for me and running…seeing as I rarely tend to do it.  This summer however, my friend and I decided to sign up for this race, so I had a running motivation.  I even made a runner’s schedule for the very first time!  Running regularly was a great learning experience for me. I was working towards my goal: the DIRTY DASH.

So before the race, it was all about me; how could I be the best I could be to get in shape for this race.  But during the race it was all about the team.  Running as a team during the Dirty Dash requires you  to not cross the finish line without your teammates.  Therefore, no matter how hard you trained, you are still only as fast as your slowest teammate.  But you also have a whole lot more fun.  My team ran and joked and encouraged each other the whole way. Working as a team made the race easier (as many of the obstacles required teamwork) and more enjoyable. We hit some hard spots, but we worked through it together.  Some of us started the race not really even knowing each other, but at the end we were family.  I wouldn’t recommend running the Dirty Dash without a team.  Seriously, I mean where’s the fun in getting muddy if you have no one to push you in it anyways?!

insight gathered: plan something fun/make a goal. work hard to prepare for it on your own. then get help from those around you. collaborate.

This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to mud!

  1. mara meservy says:

    i want to get that dirty one day! is this a metaphor of our earth life experience or what? i think i’m going to show it to my early morning class!

Leave a comment